When the Pain Comes Calling

“…In this life you will have trouble…” {John 16:33}

This is not just a statement. This is a PROMISE from God Himself. He does not say ‘you MIGHT have trouble,’ He says “…you WILL have trouble.”

That’s kind of terrifying isn’t it? To think that no matter how good of a person you are, no matter how kind, giving, or “Christian” you are, you’re still going to have trouble in life…I know it scares me.

There are times in life where everything seems to be going great. Your life couldn’t possibly get any better than it is right now. And then something terrible happens. And once one thing happens, other terrible things just keep happening and you’re left feeling like you’ll never win. Why is that? Why do all the bad things seem to come all at once? Because the enemy is trying to break you. Either that, or God is trying to BUILD you. Often times it’s both.

Many times when it seems like nothing is going right, and I’m stuck in a series of bad, all I feel is pain. When the enemy starts reminding me of all the bad things that have happened to me over the years, it hurts. When someone close to me is on the verge of dying and I know there’s nothing I can do, it stings. So trust me when I say, I know how pain can come creeping back into your life. But there is good news!

The beginning verse that I started with, was James 16:33, but it was only a portion. The entire verse says, “I have told you these things,so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world” {James 16:33; NIV}. The bold portion of the scripture is the part that gives us hope.

God promises us that we will have troubles in this life. There will be times when the enemy seems to have a strong foothold on our lives and there’s nothing we can do to stop him. But God assures us that HE HAS OVERCOME the world (including Satan). He is stronger, and more mighty than Satan will ever be. Whatever pain Satan reminds us of, with God on our side, we can overcome any pain he may throw our way.

Once we realize that God is more mighty than the enemy, and that once we are God’s, there’s nothing Satan can ever do to harm us, the pain starts to look a lot less like hurt and a lot more like beauty. {Genesis 50:20} assures us that God will use the enemy’s “bad” for our good. “[To Satan] You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives” {Genesis 50:20; NIV}.

So, when pain begins to come creeping up on you, remember that God is much stronger and as long as you trust in Him, He will overcome the pain, and use it for His Glory and purposes.

Leave a Reply

